Funny, Good Blog   Leave a comment


So one my more recent ideological shifts has been to recognize how thoroughly our culture stinks at communication. On that note, this blog has been influential. I don’t follow it (actually, I’m don’t really have the time to follow any blogs right now), but my wife does, and she reads especially funny or poignant posts to me. I thought this particular post merited a mention here. This blogger regularly provides a commentary of the latest edition of Cosmo, specifically the way that magazine conveys really awful ideas about gender and sexuality. Cosmo is in italics, and the blogger is in normal text.
Let him initiate [asking you for your number]–it makes him feel manly to be the one picking you up. But make it easy for him by giving a few hints that you’d willingly offer up your digits. […] If you’re chatting about, say, bowling, tell him, “I love to bowl, but none of my friends ever want to go.”

Here’s the problem with this:
She: “I love to bowl, but none of my friends ever want to go.”
He: “Gosh, that sucks. I hope you find some good bowling buddies!”
She: Thinks he’s just given her a stinging rejection.
He: Not knowing that he was playing a secret game all along, thinks he’s just politely expressed sympathy that she can’t pursue her interest in bowling.

I did that for a while.  It sucked.  Now I (try to) do this:
She: “I love to bowl, but none of my friends ever want to go. Hey, maybe we could go bowling sometime?”
He: “YOU BRAZEN HUSSY, YOU HAVE DESTROYED MY MANHOOD!  NOW I HAVE TO BE A WOMAN!  THAT’S VERY INCONVENIENT!”

Posted 06/17/2012 by reluctantliberal in Repost

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

