Repost: Engagement   Leave a comment


Content Note: Race, Ethnicity, Racial Bigotry 

So, I can’t really say I recommend this post from Rachel Held Evans’ blog. The rhetorical style puts me off in a big way. However, I do think some of the issues raised by the post deserve a lot more play than they normally get, so I’m reposting anyway. Here’s my favorite bit:

For all these reasons and more, I have been unable to disengage with the issues that plague black and white Christians in our country.* I’ve tried to disengage. Lord knows I’ve wanted to disengage. But I simply can’t untangle myself from the racist web into which I was spun.. And it’s for these same reasons I feel terribly sad when I watch whites disengage.

To not know African-American history is to disengage.

To attend a large white church and never ask how the church got there or why it’s staying that way is to disengage.

To never admit, let alone assess, your power and privilege as a white American is to disengage.

To not seek to understand why blacks were (and are) so angry about cases like Trayvon Martin’s is disengage.

To decide to live in a mostly white community with no thought as to why it feels safer or mandatory for your family is to disengage.

To not read widely about racial and ethnic issues in our country is to disengage.

To allow yourself to be in places where everyone looks like you 90% of the time is to disengage.

To raise your kids to be color blind is to disengage.

I don’t toss that list out lightly. Nor do I present it with judgment or condemnation. I am not looking to set you on a point-of-no-return guilt trip. None of that from me. Please consider this an invitation for you to love me, your neighborTo disengage is to fail to love.

Posted 08/16/2012 by reluctantliberal in Repost

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

