Update on the Reluctant Liberal   Leave a comment


Hi all,

I just started a new job. I hope to be blogging as much or more than I have in the past, but that won’t be happening until I settle in a bit. Probably early October would be a good guess, since I’ll be studying to take the LSAT until then. So, until further notice, expect fewer, shorter posts written by me, and expect most of those to be reposts. My GKC deconstructions will be put on hold until further notice (cruel, I know, since we were just getting to a really good part, but it’s necessary). I’m thinking about tinkering with them anyway. Since I’m new to writing deconstructions, it might be a better idea for me to start with fiction. But we’ll see.

In the meantime, I continue to grow even more stereotypically liberal every day. A few days ago, for example, my wife and I decided not to buy any more beef products. It’s not so much an issue of animal rights (though those are irrelevant) so much as it is an issue of resources. It takes about twenty times more land to feed people with animal products as it does to feed them with plant products. There’s a pretty irrefutable case that cattle production is leading to deforestation in South America, water depletion in the midwest and western portions of the United States, and starvation and poverty in developing countries that find it more profitable to produce beef (or animal feed) than they do to feed local people. (And that production is often controlled by foreign companies, so local communities that used to grow their own food don’t even see the profits that come from raising cattle or producing feed.) So yeah, eating beef isn’t so much an animal rights issue as it is a human rights issue.

I’m on the fence about chickens. I don’t think chickens are such a strain on the environment, and it helps that they’re dumber than cows as well. With chickens I’m mostly trying to figure out what companies are good to buy from, but I’m having trouble finding information I trust. (Actually, I’m in favor of individuals raising their own chickens. It’s just factoring farm practices that give me concerns. When chickens are allowed to scratch around a yard, they have positive impacts.)

In other news, it seems likely that police in New York shot bystanders in a shootout with a gunman in front of the Empire State Building. I don’t really blame the police (at this point). For all I know, their quick action saved lives. The people I blame are the ones that argue that mass shootings wouldn’t happen if everyone was armed. If trained police officers can’t control their fire in a crowded situation, what hope does the casual gun owner have? More guns would just lead to more suicides and accidental shootings. (And it needs to be pointed out that it’s only the fact that so many people have guns that our officers need to be armed at all. British police do not normally carry firearms, and they have much better crime rates (especially their murder rate) than we do.

Hopefully you’ll hear from me again soon.

Leave a Reply

