Vote Anyone Else   Leave a comment


If I were in the battleground state, I’m not sure what I would do.  I don’t like Obama.  As a matter of fact, I think he’s a war criminal.  And I think the things he couldn’t be convicted of are far worse than the things I think he should be convicted of.  He’s accomplished almost nothing in four years, and there’s hardly a campaign promise that he hasn’t broken.

But for all that, president Obama would still be infinitely better than a Romney presidency.  There are some states where the election could be decided by a few hundred votes.  As much as I despise Obama as a president, he’s far preferable than the alternative.  I don’t know, but if I were in a battleground state, I just might vote for the war criminal.

But I’m not in battle ground state.  All of my state’s electoral votes are going to go to Mitt Romney.  There’s nothing I can do about that.  As sometimes happens, conventional wisdom is wrong about voting.  Voting for either of the two major parties in my state would be throwing my vote away.  It would change nothing.  It would say nothing.  It would be pointless.

Voting for an independent candidate, on the Other hand, might say something. It wouldn’t change the outcome. My state is red. We established that. But it might just send a message of discontent with the two party non-choice that we’re given every four years. No, my candidate won’t win. My candidate was never going to win. But it might change our backwards conventional wisdom just a little bit. Right now, it looks like a few thousand votes in Ohio will decide the election. Every other vote is pointless.  California, for all its votes the electoral college, has no power in this election.  California is blue.  Everyone knows that California is blue.  Every vote cast for major party in California is a wasted vote.  It changes nothing and it says nothing. But every vote cast for a third party candidate is a registration of discontent.

I want the less evil presidency. I would take Obama over Romney. If I lived in a swing state, I might even vote for Obama. But I don’t live in a swing state. I live in a safe state. So given that my vote won’t change anything, I’m going to use it to register my discontent. If you live in a safe state, if your vote is as meaningless and useless as mine, you might try doing the same. Probably nothing will come of it, but it still has better odds of changing something than voting for either of the major parties.

Leave a Reply

